Residual Effects

I still wake sometimes and reach
For my M16
My heart pounding
A lost memory of someone I just couldn’t save
I dream in waves of sand
And sun
Blinding
But no ocean
No boardwalk
Nothing to break up the monotony
Of so much anger
So much fear
So much time that was a lifetime
A whole lifetime ago
And still
After so much time has passed
I can’t quite sleep
And if I do
I’m always reaching out
For a weapon
For a radio
For a lifeline
But if instead I reach for you
I’m only reaching for
The person I used to be

One thought on “Residual Effects

  1. Pingback: Familiar (or Residual Effects Part II) | meggie's fervor

Leave a Reply

